Italian second division changes name to Serie bwin


Bwin Interactive Gaming has signed a sponsor deal with the Italian division 2 and the league will therefore henceforth be named Serie bwin. The deal will run until June 2012 and we can all expect that bwin will offer a lot more specials and promotions relating to sports betting and Italian football (soccer) in the future.

The deal was made public in Milan by Luca Ferrari, chairman of Lega Nazionale Professionisti Serie B and Paolo Di Feo, CEO for bwin Italy.

Di Feo says that bwin are very happy to work together with Lega Serie B in this new exciting venture. He also says that bwin is continuously working towards sponsoring high level sport and that they will continue to do that at an international level.

It is becoming ever more common for Italian leagues to include the name of their main sponsor in their name. The first division in Italy, La Liga, is technically the BBVA or the Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria Ligak, just like the second division now is Serie bwin.

Lega Nazionale Professionisti has since the end of World War II controlled both divisions in Italian football, until last year when it was decided to divided the two divisions between two different organizations. These organizations are Lega Nazionale Professionisti for Division 1 - aka La Liga - and Lega Nazionale Professionisti Serie B that handles Serie bwin.

Published: 2011-08-11 11:04